Texas professor, researcher elected 38th president of AAN

You’ve successfully added to your alerts. You will receive an email when new content is published.

Click Here to Manage Email Alerts

We were unable to process your request. Please try again later. If you continue to have this issue please contact customerservice@slackinc.com.

The American Academy of Neurology has elected Carlayne E. Jackson, MD, FAAN, a neurologist, researcher and professor of neurology and otolaryngology at the University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio, as its 38th president.

According to an AAN press release, Jackson succeeds Orly Avitzur, MD, MBA, FAAN, who completed her 2-year term during the AAN annual meeting in April.

“It’s humbling to have been chosen by my colleagues to follow such talented and dedicated individuals like Dr. Orly Avitzur and the other AAN presidents who stretch back to Dr. A.B. Baker, who created the American Academy of Neurology 75 years ago,” Jackson said in the release. “They have made our Academy strong and responsive to the needs of neurologists and have promoted the highest quality patient-centered neurologic care, and I shall strive every day to do the same.”

Carlayne Jackson

Actively involved with the AAN for more than 20 years, Jackson has served on the Board of Directors since 2011 and as a member and chair of several committees. She also was on the Continuum editorial board from 2007 to 2017. She has given her time as a mentor to other neurologists in the Emerging Leaders Program, the Diversity Leaders Program, Women Leading in Neurology and the Transforming Leaders Program. Jackson received the AAN Leading in Excellence Mentorship Award in 2017.

According to the release, Jackson earned her bachelor’s degree in chemical engineering at Texas A&M University and her medical degree at University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio, where she currently serves as chair of the department of neurology and holds the Edna Smith Dielmann Distinguished University Chair. She also graduated from the Executive Leadership in Academic Medicine program sponsored by Drexel University College of Medicine.

Jackson, who has participated in more than 70 multicenter clinical trials in ALS, muscular dystrophy and myasthenia gravis, is medical director for the South Texas ALS Center of Excellence and the South Texas MDA Clinic and a member of Western ALS Study Group, Northeast ALS Research Group and the Muscle Study Group.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *