27,000 students at 4 San Antonio school districts will get free school supplies thanks to a local partnership

Students at dozens of San Antonio elementary schools will get free supplies thanks to a local partnership between the nonprofit, Texas Yes, and attorney Thomas J. Henry.

The “Box of Dreams” program is having distribution events this week for students in kindergarten through fifth grade at Title 1 elementary schools.

A spokesperson said volunteers will drop off the school supply kits at campuses in Harlandale, Edgewood, South San and San Antonio independent school districts.

The items will supply about 27,000 students this year.

“Each year, TEXAS YES selects numerous Title 1 elementary schools across Texas and supplies every student (Kindergarten through 5th grade) with a free school supply kit,” a news release states. “TEXAS YES understands the crucial need for school supplies, especially with rising inflation prices.”

The supply kits include colored pencils, Crayons, notebook paper, a spiral notebook, an eraser, a glue stick, folders with pockets, folders with pockets and brads, a ruler, pencils, ballpoint pens, and a box of tissues.

The schools include:

Edgewood ISD (distribution is Wednesday):Roosevelt Elementary SchoolHenry B Gonzalez ElementaryLas Palmas Elementary and Leadership School for GirlsStafford Elementary SchoolWinston Intermediate School of ExcellenceGardendale Early Learning ProgramLoma Park Elementary SchoolLyndon B. Johnson Elementary SchoolAlonso S. Perales Elementary SchoolRoy Cisneros Leadership School for BoysHarlandale ISD (distribution is Thursday):Gilbert ElementaryVestal ElementaryCollier ElementaryCarroll Bell ElementaryBellaire ElementaryWright ElementaryMorrill ElementaryStonewall Flanders ElementaryRayburn ElementaryGillette ElementarySchulze ElementaryColumbia Heights ElementaryVM Adams Elementary SchoolSouth San ISD (distribution is Thursday):Frank Madla ElementaryKindred ElementaryAthens ElementaryPrice ElementaryNeil Armstrong ElementaryPalo Alto Elementary SchoolHutchins ElementarySan Antonio ISD (distribution is Thursday):Charles C. Ball ElementaryFrederick Douglass Elementary SchoolAndrew Briscoe Elementary SchoolInez Foster ElementaryHighland Park Elementary SchoolHerman Hirsch Elementary SchoolMary Huppertz Elementary SchoolGeorge E Kelly Elementary SchoolMirabeau B. Lamar Elementary SchoolJames Madison Elementary SchoolAntonio Margil Elementary SchoolJohn J. Pershing Elementary SchoolKate Schenck Elementary School

Read also:

Here are the start dates for San Antonio-area school districtsSchool lunch won’t be free for many this year. Here’s how to find out if you qualify