David Harrell named 2024-2025 Houston Bar Association president


David Harrell, partner in Locke Lord in Houston, was named the 2024-2025 Houston Bar Association president during the association’s annual dinner on May 14, the HBA announced in a press release. Harrell succeeds Diana Gomez, who was recently elected to the State Bar of Texas Board of Directors representing District 4, Place 3.

“I am honored to have the opportunity to serve as president of the Houston Bar Association,” Harrell said in a press release. “I look forward to working with the HBA’s board, staff, and members to accomplish our major initiatives for the coming year, and I look forward to seeing our community reap the benefit of those efforts. I am grateful for the support that my family and firm have provided over the years, and I appreciate the friendship of my colleagues and clients.”

Harrell has extensive first- and second-chair trial and arbitration experience in the areas of energy litigation, commercial litigation, and construction litigation. His energy litigation experience includes representations of domestic and international clients in traditional oil and gas operations, as well as increasing representation of participants in the growing renewable energy industry. Harrell has been an active HBA member since 2007 and has sat on its board of directors for eight years. He has served as chair of the Houston Volunteer Lawyers, the service arm of the HBA, is a life fellow of the Houston Bar Foundation, and a fellow of the Texas Bar Foundation.

The HBA also presented the Justice Ruby Kless Sondock Award to U.S. Court of Appeals for the 5th Circuit Judge Carolyn Dineen King; the Justice Eugene A. Cook Professionalism Award to U.S. District Judge Keith P. Ellison and Christopher Tritico of Rainey in Houston; and the Exemplary Service to the Legal Profession and Community Award to Benny Agosto, of Abraham, Watkins, Nichols, Agosto, Aziz & Stogner in Houston.

For more information about the HBA, go to hba.org.